Post UF Game Thread

Discussion in 'Vols Football' started by PilotFlyingJ, Sep 25, 2021.

1. CardinalVol

CardinalVol Uncultured, non-diverse mod

Random thoughts.

Cooper Mays cost us two drives in first half (pre injury) with bad snaps on 3rd down.

Hooker's biggest flaw IMO is that when there is pressure, there is no scrambling, there is only survival. He freaks out. Had Warren for a 30 yard gain on the sideline and threw it into the front row.

Calloway drop was lack of focus.

The unfocused and lack of discipline stuff is gonna cost us another game this year.

Mullen can get guys open.

I've got zero problems with how Heupel went before half. Wish he'd tried to get another quick hitter in with 6 seconds left. Cracks me up that people think a coach that goes fast normally isn't gonna go ludicrous speed in that situation.

Injury bug returning in earnest is concerning.

If I'm a football coach who can cover, I'm covering.

Still think this team can get to 6 wins. Mizzou, Jr, and Kentucky are winnable ball games.

This team isn't awful. Far from good, but if they can stay healthy I think they might can be a fun fun team to watch as the season goes.

Tar Volon likes this.
  2. Ssmiff

Ssmiff Went to the White House...Again

pretty much. 3rd downs were also big and we needed some stops. We also needed a flag or two on the multiple holds on 3rd down conversions I saw. Those and the drop are huge plays and swings in how the game goes vs could have gone. We have some issues, but we are aggressive offensively and swarm on defense. Entertaining to watch and we play with a little swagger. We don't have the horses and chemistry yet to overcome those types of plays, especially at the swamp against Mullen. And yes when Hooker decides to get out of the pocket his head is down and he's running. I already mentioned, but Milton runs like he's trying to run up behind somebody without making noise to scare them. Anybody notice the odd dive on a run last night? Awkward.