I'm a Brain Scientist and I Let My Son Play Football

Discussion in 'The Thunderdome' started by CardinalVol, Sep 20, 2017.

1. CardinalVol

CardinalVol Uncultured, non-diverse mod

2. NorrisAlan

NorrisAlan Founder of the Mike Honcho Fan Club

I found the article interesting, but it came off like a man trying to justify letting his son play football. Not saying he is wrong, but just how I read it.

I don't think letting a 12 year old play football is going to cause CTE or dementia 50 years later, necessarily. But I have seen a 9 year old get a concussion, and that just cannot be good, and the odds of it happening in youth football is probably far higher than in any other sport. Yes, you can get beaned by a pitch, yes you can take a header or a kick to the head in soccer, or hit the water wrong on a high dive, but those pale in comparison to hit after hit after hit you take in football.

I let my sons play, and I am glad they took the decision away from me when they both quit after on season saying they didn't enjoy it. I am not going to lie.

3. CardinalVol

At the youth level, you might want to take a look at soccer versus football, girls soccer specifically. You might be surprised.

4. IP

IP Super Moderator

Soccer has a lot of youth injuries, including brain injuries.

I think it is worth listening to other perspectives.

5. CardinalVol

My son is playing grasshopper level this year. I'm infinitely more times worries that he breaks his neck by blocking tackling with his head down that I am him getting a concussion and/or CTE.

(And am thankful our coaches stop it/correct it on the spot when kids do go in head down.)

6. NorrisAlan

Please don't get me wrong, I am open to a discussion on this. And I admit that soccer has issues as well. My son plays u-12 and they are VERY strict on heading and you cannot play the ball if you are laying on the ground.

7. CardinalVol

Boys youth soccer and football are about dead even in concussions.

8. NorrisAlan