Union County

Discussion in 'The Thunderdome' started by Tenacious D, Sep 15, 2019.

1. Tenacious D

Tenacious D The law is of supreme importance, or no importance

I went to watch a game at Union County on Friday.

For anyone interested:

The new UCHS is nice and modern, as are both their new turf field and the surroundings elements. It’s scenic and well-kept.

UCHS has the best play-by-play announcer of any I’ve heard at any high school game.

Maynardville now has three (3) pizza parlors, a modern McDonald’s, and a brand new Taco Bell.

There are apparently throngs of Floridians and Ohioans who are scooping up property. Construction is the #1 industry in Union County, by a long shot.

For a place that is so frequently derided, and at times rightfully so, it seems to be doing well and progressing, however slowly.

Again, for any who may be interested in such things.

2. IP

IP Super Moderator

Sounds like when I graduated in 2002. Same UCHS (but new turf now and a track), same Pizza Parlor drama, same "now we got a <insert chain>!" We used to have a hardee's, and have had that tiny McDonald's for 20 years. Still tons of half-backs buying up the lake front that was imminent domained away from locals to TVA. Construction is still #1, because of the low number of people who go to college. They often are contractors and don't have health insurance, so when they hit their 40's their bodies are broken down and they are dependent on pain killers, which leads to you know.

I don't deride the place, it just isn't going to get anywhere because it is exactly the product of Country Politics in Tennessee. As long as the top has nice mcmansions near the lake and the right families are getting the cushy government jobs, all is well. Pay no attention to the trailer parks and generational poverty.

RockyHill likes this.
  3. Tenacious D