Tennessee Track Controversy

Discussion in 'VOLuminous' started by Unimane, Oct 15, 2014.

1. Unimane

Unimane Kill "The Caucasian"

OK, as a track guy myself, what in the hell is going on over there on the Hil in regards to the new track coach. I have, literally, never heard of the shit she's trying to pull there with the banning of athletes from participating in the program. I have heard of coaches pulling stuff like this in the off-season when the kids have an opportunity to transfer or redshirt, whatever. But, why even tell these kids they can't participate? Even if they aren't good enough (debatable, seeing their times and pedigree), at least let them, possibly, surprise you with their abilities in the Indoor and Outdoor season before telling them they aren't a fit. I've never seen a situation in which a coach could so effectively burn bridges. I know, as a track coach myself, that UT coming to my school and recruiting some of my athletes would give me pause and I'm a ****ing alum who's been a die hard Vol fan since the 80s.

2. kptvol

kptvol Super Moderator

Another national championship level program we decided to kill.

3. NorrisAlan

NorrisAlan Founder of the Mike Honcho Fan Club

It is an embarrassment is what it is. Her pulling that crap is a disgrace and she should be kicked on her our ass with a box with her office stuff tossed on her head. Then the door locked behind her.

4. dknash

dknash Chieftain

No way she made a commitment to Tennessee and we need to honor that commitment

5. IP

IP Super Moderator

I read about this yesterday. Once the school year begins, pulling something like this is just disgraceful.

6. NorrisAlan

Exactly. Hey, I am all for telling those girls "Sorry, but you will never run here again. I think you should find another school to run at." It happens in other sports all the time.