Unconditional Basic Income- into the mainstream

Discussion in 'The Thunderdome' started by IP, Apr 14, 2016.

1. IP

IP Super Moderator

2. droski

droski Traffic Criminal

passing in and out of employment in the so-called gig economy is now something everyone can afford

sounds great. now instead of having people wait till the unemployment is out to make the hard decisions, now they never have to make them at all.

3. IP

IP Super Moderator

Research shows that isn't what generally happens, according to the article. Do you have any basic income experiments to share?

4. droski

droski Traffic Criminal

research has absolutely shown that the longer unemployment benefits are the longer on average people remain unemployed.

5. droski

droski Traffic Criminal

if this option was available I absolutely would have toured Europe after I graduated college instead of immediately start working. why the hell not?

6. IP

IP Super Moderator

This isn't unemployment benefits.

7. droski

droski Traffic Criminal

how is it different? both are a substitute for earnings intended to provide for bare necessities.

8. NorrisAlan

NorrisAlan Founder of the Mike Honcho Fan Club

The big theme that sits under Srnicek and Williams’s ideas is that of automation, and its effects on the place of work in our lives. A third of jobs in UK retail are forecast to go by 2025.

This is the biggest thing. Jobs are going to be disappearing, and fast. One of the fathers that went to the Yorktown with us installs robots and trains the owners. he showed one robot and it looked like a basketball with fully articulated arms, and it was designed to basically do whatever you wanted it to do. One he recently installed was at some plant where it was replacing a person at the end of an assembly line that packed the goods into a box, something often hard for robots to do. And it cost $25,000, and was expected to operated 3-4 years.