POLITICS Random Political/Legal

Discussion in 'Politicants' started by fl0at_, Jun 7, 2021.

1. TennTradition

TennTradition Super Moderator

But we also know this wasn’t thrown out simply because it would be better if codified into law. The court deemed the law didn’t provide a mandate for applying regulations that were being applied including not providing for the idea of a trading system (at least I believe that was one of the beefs). I’m not a lawyer - won’t pretend to be one. I never felt comfortable with the clean air act being used to regulate CO2. We’ve been around on that. Classifying it as a pollutant didn’t seem to properly capture its nature in our atmosphere. But that’s more of a policy perspective than a legal perspective. I can’t really say if the court was justified to say it was a misapplication of the Clean Air Act. But conceptually I agree with it and I think a better - and necessary - outcome would be climate legislation.

2. fl0at_

fl0at_ Humorless, asinine, joyless pr*ck

You're hiding behind semantics of law, not reason. "The law didn't." Doesn't matter, we know we need to. "This isn't always." Doesn't matter, we know we need to.

"Well we don't have the votes to stop nuclear war, so, *launch*."

3. TennTradition

TennTradition Super Moderator