The Death of Ahmaud Arbery

Discussion in 'The Thunderdome' started by IP, May 5, 2020.

1. IP

IP Super Moderator

I think it was because if she is in hand cuffs in the back of the patrol car, they are going to find the gun for one and-- and I may be misremembering or misunderstanding-- didn't she turn out to have some sort of drugs on her as well? She was playing the shell game to keep the gun and other stuff undetected, and you can't do the shell game if you are in cuffs and not freely able to walk around, holding your bag, etc.

2. IP

IP Super Moderator

No, wait, the officer found drugs. So ya, that is why she panicked. She was likely going to catch charges and she knew it.

3. HCKevinSteele

HCKevinSteele Well-Known Member

I’m no police procedure expert, but he gave her way too much rope right? I hate seeing videos of cops beating women that could never in a million years physically threaten them. But if I’m a cop and you’re behaving in a super sketchy manner I’m either making your ass sit still on the curb or your going in the back of the car for a minute while I’m searching.

4. Indy

Indy Pronoun Analyst

Yeah, I mean, she obviously panicked, but the reaction just seems off to me. Getting arrested and charged for drugs or a firearm is obviously not good, but I'm not sure what thought process led her to think that pulling a gun and shooting the cop might better her situation.

Maybe she just freaked out and wasn't thinking straight, or, based on what was in her car, maybe she wasn't in the right state of mind when the incident started. But she's running around yelling "Help" and pulling out a gun. It just makes me wonder what was going through her mind. Did she fear that she might be harmed by the officer if she allowed herself to be handcuffed? Running around screaming "Help!" seems to indicate she felt she was in danger.

5. justingroves

justingroves supermod