#FireColbert

Discussion in 'The Thunderdome' started by GahLee, May 7, 2017.

1. VolDad

VolDad Super Moderator

The discussions around speakers at these College and University campuses seems to imply that Colleges are a cohesive unit (i.e., Berkeley should invite liberals and Oral Roberts should invite conservatives).

They aren't. It was the Berkeley Republicans who invited Coulter to speak. They should be able to listen to her.

Last edited: May 10, 2017
  2. IP

IP Super Moderator

I would rather they invite someone from the Cato Institute or other conservative think tank. Same goes with liberal speakers that are more of entertainers. Regardless, I wouldn't stop them from spending their speaker funds on her if they wish or prevent her from speaking.

An aspect of this not mentioned is that these speakers cost tens of thousands of dollars when they are of a celebrity nature. When I was a grad student at UT, we proposed some guest speakers. One wanted 25 grand, the other 8 grand. We didn't even attempt to justify the 25 grand one.

Al Gore waived his speaking fee for UT when I was an undergrad, but I believe it is in the six figures by a very large margin. A vice president with six figure fee for public speaking? Ayfkm?

3. justingroves

justingroves supermod

**** sleeve is usually in reference to a vagina

4. Tenacious D

Tenacious D The law is of supreme importance, or no importance

Susan Rice's testimony - which she initially and freely offered to provide Congress, but later refused, when invited to provide it - will prove enlightening, if she is subpoenaed.

The possibility that Russia likely tried to influence any number of elections - be it here, elsewhere, in 2016 or anytime before - seems plausible.

If proven that they attempted it, whatever effect it may have had, if any, remains unknown.